Skip to content
January 21, 2012 / conservadox

shabbos dinner

This week’s torah portion involves numerous plagues causing Egypt’s wildlife and plants to die.   When the rivers turned to blood, the fish in the river died (Exodus 7:18). A few plagues later, the cattle died (Exodus 9).   Finally the flax and the barley (Exodus 9:31) though not the spelt (9:32) were smitten.

So I decided to have all these foods.

For cattle- lahma bajene, a kind of Mideastern meat pie with fruit (too “sweet and sour” for me as it turned out)

(also rice ball w/beef, cabbage and noodles with corned beef- all pre-prepared from kosher grocery store (cabbage and noodles I liked, rice ball less so)

For fish- grilled salmon salad (also from store so I cheated a little)

Brook trout (pan fried myself, nice but not too filling)

For flax and barley- hot cereal made with both

For spelt- spelt crackers

Plus a few chicken kreplach because I felt like it

Choc. Coins for dessert

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Shira Salamone / Jan 23 2012 1:14 pm

    I think I learned this from one of our local synagogue’s previous rabbis (ordained by JTS): Fish eaten at a meat meal must be eaten *before* the meat and on a separate plate, with separate utensils, based on a now-disproven theory that eating fish and meat at the same time was hazardous to one’s health. (I think he said that it was permissible simply to wash the plate and utensils after using them for fish and re-use them for meat.) The usual rule applies–ask your local rabbi.

    Chocolate coins, yum! We just demolished the last of our Chanukah gelt yesterday. It was pareve, and I think it was Paskeszs brand, but it was “Belgian” chocolate (from the Netherlands–go figure), and was the best chocolate gelt I’ve ever eaten. We bought it at a Seasons Kosher Supermarket. I hope they carry it again for Chanukah next year.

    • Woodrow / Jan 27 2012 1:41 pm

      I do the separate plates thing (based on my desire to keep an “Orthodox kosher” home to accommodate Orthodox guests), but I didn’t think Conservatives did.

  2. Erica Prible / Jun 26 2012 11:27 am

    Hey there, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues. When I look at your blog site in Chrome, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, great blog!

Leave a Reply

