Skip to content
July 10, 2012 / conservadox

Myth busting

According to a recent article Conservative Judaism wasn’t really separate from Orthodoxy till the 40s.   It made me think of an article by Lawrence Kelemen* attacking Solomon Schecter; if he’d known Schecter was really Orthodox would he have held his fire?

*I haven’t (and won’t) throughly critiqued Kelemen’s article.  But since he calls Moses Mendelsohn “the grandfather of Reform” apparently based on his children’s conversion of Christianity, I don’t really consider him a reliable source.   It seems to me if you are going to describe Mendelsohn’s thought you should do it based on his writings.   I read Jerusalem and he seemed pretty Orthodox to me.

Leave a Reply

