Skip to content
July 5, 2013 / conservadox

shabbos dinner

I just arrived back home in NYC yesterday from a long vacation, so I didn’t have much time to think about dinner.  (All I knew is that since the 9 days start Sun night I didn’t want to have meat lying around).

Since I had just read a couple of stories in the Forward about Crown Heights markets, I went to Crown Heights and got some stuff (including both things I might ordinarily get and others I would not).  Also I saved a little bit from my vacation in the Pacific Northwest.  So dinner included:

a salad with cabbage, zucchini spread from Bulgaria, and avocado

blueberries

tuna steak, half with BBQ sauce and half with hoisin sauce (unfortunately overcooked- I learned you have to be more careful with tuna than with some other types of fish but it was still edible)

maple fudge (from the vacation) plus a cookie from Gombo’s in Crown Heights

Leave a Reply

