Skip to content
July 30, 2013 / conservadox

Dvar torah- Reeh

“You are children of the LORD your God. You shall not gash yourselves… because of the dead.” (Deut. 14:1).

What do these sentences have to do with each other? Tigay says that Rashi says “that the high station of the Israelites demands a dignified appearance.”

I am definitely for this. And on average I do think religious Jews tend to look more dignified than most americans.

One possible gray is married women covering their hair. Generally orthodox Jews favor this in varying degrees, others not so much.  It is not my job to take a halachic position on whether or how this should be done (though to learn more you may want to start here).

But if you are going to do it, some ways seem more dignified than others. This may be why Chabad women favor nice wigs- to present a dignified appearance to the world.

But when I see frum women in turbans and headscarves I think one of two things:
A- Bald. ick!
B- Islamic wannabe

Then again I’m not married or a woman so its none of my business.  And obviously there’s lots of practical and halachic concerns that people who are married and/or woman have to worry about.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Shira Salamone / Jul 30 2013 3:02 pm

    “Islamic wannabe?!” *You* try going anywhere in a wig on a 99-degree, and then tell me how *you* like it! Wigs are unhealthy–they prevent air from getting to the scalp. They also have a long-standing reputation for making many long-time wearers go bald. Yeah, “ick!” Dignified or not, I’m sticking to a plain white cotton beret as my visiting-an-Ortho-synagogue substitute for my usual pink kippah.

Leave a Reply

