Skip to content
February 2, 2014 / conservadox

Dvar Torah – Tetzaveh

In this coming week’s Torah portion, Moses instructs the Jews about the proper clothing for the High Priest.  Scharfstein notes that because the High Priest is a representative of God, “his regalia must reflect his position of honor and dignity.”  

Somehow, many Americans have lost the connection between clothing and dignity- I can’t quite figure out why.  I can’t tie it to some general erosion of morality, since crime has been going down for twenty years.  

But I do my best to reverse the trend- I always wear a tie (and usually a suit) to class when I teach. 

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Shira Salamone / Feb 5 2014 2:50 pm

    ” . . . many Americans have lost the connection between clothing and dignity.” True, unfortunately. I can’t believe what some people wear to work.

Leave a Reply

