Skip to content
September 24, 2014 / conservadox

Dvar Torah – Rosh Hashanah

Part of the Rosh Hashanah liturgy is acknowledging God’s kingship.  I got a little more perspective about that this morning.  I was going out for coffee with a faculty colleague, and I mentioned that when I was at another job some years ago, I was on the hiring committee.   She asked me what I had learned.  My first thought was “not much.”  But as I told stories, I realized there was a theme: that it was all dependent on luck (aka God’s will, since if God created everything, by definition God created luck).

For example: after an interview the committee was discussing one candidate for a minute or two.  Then the Dean said “I didn’t like her that much.”  After that she was toast, because of a remark by the Dean that took two seconds.  If the Dean had not been in the room, she would have probably gotten a callback.

So this Rosh Hashanah I learn: I am in control of my life a little bit, but only somewhat.  (Of course, even to the extent I have free will, whatever that means, it was created by the same Force that created luck, so even that is a manifestation of Divine kingship).

Leave a Reply

