Skip to content
June 5, 2015 / conservadox

Shabbat dinner

This week’s Torah portion mentions Pesach Sheni (Numbers 9:11) so I decided to get matzoh instead of challah.

Also, in this portion the Jews complain about the absence of leeks, garlic, fish, onions and melons (Num. 11:5).

So for melons I found watermelon popsicles (my dessert, though I added a chocolate bar w/raspberry)

For garlic I found mashed potato mix with onion powder, vegan sloppy joe mix with garlic powder, and also diced tomatoes with garlic and onion. And then I made a kind of vegetarian Shepherd’s pie out of all of them.

For fish I still have canned mackerel from Pesach, and used that to create two salads: one with the tomatoes, and another with leeks.  I also made a third salad with leeks and cucumbers.

Leave a Reply

