Skip to content
July 27, 2015 / conservadox

Shabbos dinner

This was my first shabbos dinner in my new city (not counting last week when I was invited to someone’s house).   I didn’t really think as hard as I usually do about dinner (and tying dinner to the parsha) because I was too busy moving in.  So I just took advantage of the fact that I was in a city with an actual kosher market and got some things I couldn’t have gotten where I lived last year.

In particular, the main course was a tuna filet with tomato sauce and mustard.  (Next time I’d try a stronger sauce like BBQ or hoisin).  Also, I discovered a cupcake-size kosher angel food cake (made by a company in the region, so a local specialty), which was nice to have warm.

On a more boring note:

– marinated eggplant mixed with chickpeas (kind of an odd mix, the eggplant was too salty to go with the chickpeas very well, but mustard makes it all nice).

– caramel wheat cakes

– dates and figs (part of my pre-fast meal)

– raspberry hamantashen

Leave a Reply

