Skip to content
September 13, 2015 / conservadox

Rosh Hashanah meal

Unless I’m with family or something, I like to do my own Rosh Hashanah meal.  I do the ritual foods-

dates, cabbage (in this case sauerkraut because I already had some), gourd (pumpkin), pomegranate, apples and honey, fish head (unfortunately herring- in Pittsburgh, unlike NYC, you can’t get salmon head, but the kosher market always sells whole herring so I got two of those), and misc fish (herring leftover from the aforementioned whole herring, plus mackerel).

Plus since the custom of eating meat is stronger for Yom Tov than for Shabbos, I decided to have meat.  I saw two brands of beef fry in the market so decided to have a beef fry taste off (Shor Harbor vs. A&H- think I like the former better).  Am making a stew out of the latter with black beans and avocado potato chips (why?  because I saw some lying around and thought I’d experiment).

Dessert will be a bit dull in comparison- kosher marshmallow, some mini cookies.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Shira Salamone / Sep 16 2015 1:45 pm

    I experimented with a parve “blondies” recipe made with honey, since wheat and I are on such poor terms that I haven’t been able to eat honey cake for several years. The blondies turned on to be one of those recipes that actually improves with age–they tasted better on the second day of Rosh Hashanah than they had tasted on the first night.

    This recipe is from the Elaine Gottshall’s Breaking the Vicious Cycle (the “Bible” of the Specific Carb Diet)–in her book, they’re called Peanut Brownies, if I remember correctly.

    Ingredients:

    ~ 1 cup peanut butter or almond butter (yes, they can be made kosher for Passover even for those of us poor Ashkenazim who don’t eat kitniot)
    ~ 1/2 cup honey
    ~ 1 egg
    ~ baking soda (I think the recipe called for 1/2 teaspoon, but I’d have to check)

    Mix all ingredients thoroughly.
    Pour into well-“buttered” (I used coconut oil) 8-inch-by-8-inch baking pan
    Bake at 350 Fahrenheit (I think) for 25-30 minutes, or until they look finished, not spongy–I recommend avoiding the top rack so they won’t get burned around the edges

Leave a Reply

