Skip to content
January 15, 2016 / conservadox

shabbos dinner

I have been with relatives in my home town the past month- first due to winter break then due to shiva (since my father died the day before I was about to return to Pittsburgh).  So this will be my first shabbos dinner at home in over a month.

In this week’s Torah portion, the Jews have a lamb for the first Passover sacrifice (Exodus 12:21) and are commanded to eat matzoh on Pesach.  So I am having lamb riblets and matzoh of course.

Because the Egyptians suffered the plague of darkness (10:22) I am having black beans.

And because the Hebrews borrowed silver and good (12:35) from the Egyptians, I am having herring (silver) and potato sticks (gold) and colored marshmallows (a bit of gold).

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Shira Salamone / Jan 16 2016 8:44 pm

    Sorry to hear that you lost your father. May you be comforted among the mourners of Zion and Jerusalem.

Leave a Reply

