Skip to content
November 28, 2016 / conservadox

Managing Thanksgiving and Shabbos

I had a houseguest over for the weekend, so I had a difficult quandry: on the one hand, I felt like I had to do something for Thanksgiving, but on the other hand I wanted to make shabbos my first priority.

So rather than following the secular tradition of a full turkey (which I thought was not a good idea for just two people) I had a few dishes with turkey in them: wontons with turkey pastrami, a little pack of Israeli turkey sausage, eggs with turkey bacon (kind of a blander version of shakshuka).  Then Friday a friend brought a full turkey breast and we had something more like a stereotypical Thanksgiving (though without the godawful things often associated with an American Thanksgiving, such as cranberry sauce).

Leave a Reply

